It’s time for a Break

This month, many writers will be engaged in NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month which takes places annually every November. It’s when writers pledge to get down 50000 words or more in one month. Basically, it’s a writing frenzy to help writers who have difficulty staying motivated get as many words on the page as possible in a short space of time. It’s a month when you’re supposed to let go of procrastination and the distractions in your life and just put your butt in the chair and write.

I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before. Not because I don’t think it’s a great program but because “motivating myself to write” has never been a problem for me. As a full time mum to four kids, my time is very limited. So when a window opens up, I have to be at my computer. I just have to. My kids have trained me to take what I can when I can to get things done. It’s like constantly running to catch a train. Get there or be left behind. But I’ve become used to it. In fact, I’m so good at maximizing the spare time I have to write that I actually feel guilty to use my spare time to do anything else. Like, READ.

So this is where my real problem lies.

Not reading is actually bad for a writer because reading is not just a form of pleasure, it’s research, networking, skill building, analysis and market watch all rolled into one. So this month I’m taking action.

I’m going to do the opposite of NaNoWriMo and make myself NOT write. Yes, I’m starting a new trend, for all you workaholic writers out there who can’t seem to get your butt out of the chair long enough to enjoy your first love. Books. It’s time for a break.

NaNoReMo.

2013-11-20 11.00.42Here’s just some of the books in my TBR pile. I’ve even started a few of them awhile back and just never got round to finishing reading them.  I am going to try and finish as many books as possible between now and Christmas.

Who’s with me?

3 thoughts on “It’s time for a Break

  1. Hey Loretta

    Just looked at the books you’ve show-cased there! I’ve read 7 of them.

    Haven’t read the Katie Fforde one yet, but I’ve got it to read.

    I loved them all to esp Currawong Creek.

    I have asked Father Christmas to put “Girl in The Yellow Vest” in my stocking for Xmas, so I’m hoping that your book hits the shelves before then!!????? No? Ah well…will have to wait I guess.

    Helen
    Mount Hospital

    >>> My Blog 20/11/2013 11:06 am >>>

    LorettaHill posted: “This month, many writers will be engaged in NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month which takes places annually every November. It’s when writers pledge to get down 50000 words or more in one month. Basically, it’s a writing frenzy to help writers who h”

    • We must have the same taste in stories! Thanks Helen. I hope my book makes it onto the shelves a few days before Christmas too. It did last year even though the release date was 1st Jan. Will let you know if it happens again 🙂

Leave a Reply

