Go Dockers!

I’ve never been very sporty, either as a spectator or as a player. I’m a girlie girl with an aversion to sweat and dirt. I know, why did I ever become an engineer? And why am I writing rural romance. But that’s not what this post is about.

 

Before I met my husband, I didn’t know a thing about football and wasn’t really interested in learning.  To be honest, even when we started dating and I found out his family (who are from Fremantle, by the way) were mad keen Dockers supporters, I still didn’t try to get into football.

 

It wasn’t until after we got engaged that I knew I had to make some changes. If I wanted to be welcomed by the family, the first thing I had to do was take out a Docker’s membership. So for my first year of marriage, I went to every home game they played in. Wow! That was an education. Talk about Loretta’s year of Football.  I can’t say I enjoyed every second and I cancelled my membership after I considered us ‘safely’ married (LOL)  but it did give me a soft spot for the Dockers and an appreciation for the game.  I almost feel like they’re my ‘in laws’ too now. Just the ones I don’t see as often. LOGO2011-246A-use-this-one

 

So last weekend, I was very proud to see them make it to the Grand Final for the very first time. I hope this post brings them luck on Saturday!

 

Go Dockers!

Leave a Reply

