Getting into Character

Well, break time is over.

Time to begin writing my next book which will actually be a novella.  Nice, short, sweet and funny. At least, that’s what I’m aiming for. I haven’t actually started yet. In fact, I’m procrastinating. There’s nothing more intimidating than a blank page. And even though I’m excited about my premise, I don’t really know my characters well yet so I’m kinda nervous about working with them. I guess it’s like that feeling you have when you’re about to meet in person someone you’ve only corresponded with over phone or email. You’re pretty sure you’re going to like them but you’re slightly worried that at first, it might be a little awkward.

manTo help, combat first greeting jitters, I think I might do some character sheets. I tend to do them before I start any story. It’s basically a questionnaire addressed to my character. I fill it out as my character and in this way get to know them very quickly before I have to write in their point of view. Not to say, this questionnaire is set in stone. Usually by chapter five it’s completely changed -even eye and hair colour. But it still helps me to get started. And one thing, I’ve learnt about being a writer is, if it works just do it.

 

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

