Procrastination! Don’t you hate it.

procrasThis week “The Girl in the Yellow Vest” is sitting pretty at 84 000 words and I’m really happy with that. If only the finish line didn’t seem so far away! At this point in the process, I always suffer terribly from procrastination. Much more, in fact, than any other point in my novel. Even blank page, chapter one!!  Generally, I’m quite an organized, disciplined sort of person. I have my schedule and I stick with it. Nothing usually distracts me from my path or my characters. But at this stage of the story, I always seem to be looking for other things do.  And I’m not talking fun things either. Last night, I washed dishes instead of turning on my computer. Is that desperate or what!

 

I do have a theory about why I get like this. I think I’ve actually fallen out of love with my own story. I’ve created all these story threads and now I have to tie them all into a nice neat bow to create the perfect ending. Don’t get me wrong, I actually do know how I’m going to tie them together, so it’s not writers block, it’s just, “bah, too hard! Can’t be bothered.”

 

Like Jack and Jill. I can see the well. I know I’ve got to get the bucket and climb up the hill. It’s simple.  Put one leg in front of the other but all I want to do is go see the ginger bread man instead. He’s much more exciting and delicious!

 

When I’m at this point, I guess, I know everything is going to be okay so the story, for me anyway, has lost it’s intrigue. And now it’s just work.  Do you know what I mean? I wonder if I’m the only writer who suffers from 80% itos…

 

 

 

One thought on “Procrastination! Don’t you hate it.

  1. ‘Falling out of love’ with your own story makes a lot of sense. I think it’s a bit like spending time cooking a lovely meal, only to stare at it forlornly on the plate, your appetite vanished. You’ve seen it at it’s bony barest. You’ve seen it raw and messy and uncooked. You’ve gotta learn to love it again so you can enjoy finishing it all off! You can do it, you’re so close now …! Kim xo

Leave a Reply

