German Cover for “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots”

Last week, I got an email from my agent saying, “This will put a smile on your face.” And it did. Attached was my first ever foreign cover! Last year, two German publishers bid for the privilege to publish The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots in Germany. We sold to Ullstein who will release my book in March 2014. The Girl in the Hard Hat will follow in 2015.

28523_Hill_Kann_mir_FIN.indd

When I first saw the cover, I was initially quite shocked. It’s very different to my Aussie one.  I’m told it’s all about marketing and catching the eye of their target audience rather than strict accuracy. There is another interesting twist. The title has been changed to,  “Don’t Forget How to Kiss.”

 

If you said, “Huh?” when you read that, than you’re with me.  Again, I think it’s all about marketing and also the fact that there probably isn’t a direct or short translation of “Steel-Capped Boots” so it easier to change the title altogether. After such a drastic modification, I had to wonder whether the content of the story had been changed as well but my agent said, no. Contractually and ethically, the main story translation must be as direct as possible. So how’s that for a bit of trivia.

 

Personally, I love this cover. It’s so bright and cheerful. And it’s nice to see a dark haired Lena on the front. I actually originally wrote her as a brunette but changed her hair colour in final drafts to match the Aussie cover.  So it’s great to see her portrayed liked this.

 

I’d love to go to Germany and see my book on the shelf. Perhaps I’ll just be cheeky and put my hand up for a German tour. How much fun would that be!

 

Guten Tag

 

13 thoughts on “German Cover for “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots”

  1. “Kiss in boots”
    Love the idea of your book going O/S
    Congrats from Lori
    (FIFO health researcher)

  2. Congratulations on going international Loretta! Though it’s a pity the Aussie landscape didn’t cut if for the Germans. I’m having a bit of a chuckle imagining the mind-bend the German readers will have to make when they discover the Pilbara on the pages after seeing the cute cottagy cover with such a lush background. Hope all goes gangbusters with book sales there… and that you get to make a German tour too 🙂
    Best regards Barbara

  3. Congratulations on you first book going international! I hope the next stop is the US! 🙂

    P.S. I think the cover is lovely!

  4. Wow, I’m currently learning German so maybe one day I will be able to read it! Such a big difference. Congrats, Loretta.

  5. Um, actually the title would translate as “you never unlearn how to kiss” or “you never forget how to kiss”. Personally I prefer the original cover, it’s more in connection with the storyline. But what do I know about marketing?
    It’s very exciting to see that your Baby has grown wings and I hope it sells well. I loved the story very much, as its sequel.

    • Hi Brigitte! Are you German? Thanks for clarifying the title for me because I would never have known. And yes, I’m very excited to see my book selling in other languages.

      • Loretta, that would be a yes; but have lived in France for most of my life. 🙂

  6. Congratulations! That’s great! Cover and title changes are are quite common for translations. In your case “The Girl with the Steel-Capped Boots” would sound something like this in German: “Das Mädchen in Schuhen mit Stahlkappe”. My German is far from perfect, so the cases might be a bit off, but anyway, you don’t want this title on your book, right. 🙂 Your title in German literally means “you cannot unlearn how to kiss” as in “you never forget how to kiss”. It looks faboulous! If I were German, i’d buy it!

Leave a Reply

