Realising Dreams

The voiceThis month I’ve been really getting into channel ten’s, “The Voice.” I usually have it playing in the background as I’m rushing around trying to get the kids bathed and ready for bed. When they’re finally all down for the night, my husband and I collapse on the couch and watch the last lot of performers. They always seem to save the best for last anyway. I guess this show appeals to me because it’s all about people realising their dreams against difficult odds.

I’m no stranger to hard work, knock backs and rejection.  I guess you could liken submission for publication to the blind audition process on this singing talent show. Rather then judges you’ve got publishing houses.  None of them know who you are, what you look like or your background. All you submit is your talent and hope (and pray) that someone (an editor) will recognize some quality in “your voice” to make them want to coach you.

The great thing about writing is that it’s never too early or too late to start. You don’t need any specific tertiary qualification though in some cases it might be handy to have one. All you really need is you.  I’ve read about some people who are published when they’re teenagers. Others don’t get there until very late in life – sometimes in retirement. It’s not a skill that has a used by date or a set time period of maximum performance, like most sports. I’ve been writing since I was a kid. I’ll probably write until I die. It’s just completely and utterly part of my life. I wouldn’t know what to do without it.  I’d probably have a lot more free time that’s for sure. I’m really happy to be at that point where I can share my writing with others.

So I guess I really cheer for all those people on “The Voice,” because they’ve put it all on the line to realize their dreams. None of the contestants are amateurs. They are people who have been working solidly on their music goals for years. It’s great to see hard work paying off. I’ve always believed that if you have that plus faith you can accomplish anything.

2 thoughts on “Realising Dreams

  1. I so agree Loretta. I’m addicted to The Voice and I think it is the whole thing about people having the courage to chase their dreams just as we have to do as writers. I almost cry every time one of those singers stands up there and sings their heart out and not one chair turns around. I know it’s part of the process, just as rejection is for writers, but it does seem brutal. I love that there’s a few who have put themselves out there regardless of age too. It’s never to late to follow your dream.

Leave a Reply

