Thinking About Conference

As a writer, even if you’re published, it’s always important to continue to develop and evolve. Explore new and exciting ways of improving your craft. For many, it’s as simple as picking up a “How to” book, reading the newsletter from the writers association you’re a member of or talking to your critique partner. For me, the most enjoyable way to be inspired is to attend a conference. This year, there have been three on my mind.

The first which takes place this weekend is the Australian Romance Readers Convention. I would have loved to have attended. Sadly, with four kids, it takes a lot of organizational skill to get out the door… especially all the way to Brisbane. This year, “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots” has been nominated under the category of FAVOURITE CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE for an ARRA award. The winners will be announced at the convention.

My next possible conference choice is the RWA Conference. This year it’s in Perth for the first time. I’m very excited and am definitely going. This conference is always fun. This year, I’m also part of the program. I’ll be on a panel with some other Random House authors talking “Life after Publication.” If you’re interested in writing, no matter the genre, I definitely recommend this as a “must attend” event.

My last conference choice is Genre Con 2013. This conference is in Queensland which is a little harder for me to get to but I have till October to sort myself out. And I am definitely considering it! I’ve never been to this conference before but have received good reviews. It’ll be nice to try something new.

Okay… now that I’ve day dreamed about how to improve my writing, I better actually do some!

4 thoughts on “Thinking About Conference

  1. Hey Loretta,
    I empathise with the whole getting there thing with a family etc. It IS tricky.
    Lucky for me I’ve hit a good year and I’m definitely off to ARRA where I’m on a new authors panel,. That will be a good warm up for RWA in Perth, where I’ll be sharing a seat with you, Margareta Osborn (and is it Janette Paul?) on the Random Romance panel, which should be great fun! I’m also considering Genre Con too – it sounded great from all reports. If you win an ARRA award have you teed someone up who’s going to collect it for you? Good luck!

    • Thanks for the luck Kate. I haven’t teed anyone up. I guess I subconsciously didn’t think I needed to, especially with such a talented line up. LOL. I guess you never know 🙂 🙂

  2. I’ve registered for the RWA conference Loretta – my first time so I’m very excited! Would love to do Genrecon too if I can get away. Look forward to seeing you at one or both!

Leave a Reply

