Loretta’s Pen Pals

Many people hold the view that writers work in isolation, that it’s a lonely business, solitary and quiet. Not true. At least, not for me. I would probably chat to other writers, my publisher, my agent or my readers on a daily basis. Maybe it’s the phenomenon of social media or the convenience of emails but networking, next to writing, is one of the most time consuming things I do when I’m on the computer. In fact, I have to physically stop myself or set a time limit for chatting with my friends, swapping industry news and figuring out new and fun ways to promo.  This week on the blog, I’m going to allow my readers to take a peek into my letter box.  My guest is Pamela Cook, author of the great read, Blackwattle Lake.  Don’t you just love getting letters from friends. Here’s what she had to say….

Dear Loretta,

What have you been up to lately? I’ve just returned from a wonderful month on the south coast of NSW where we have a small property. After all the excitement of being published in December it was great to get away and relax, spend some time with the family and clear my head. I managed to do a little bit of writing, some reading and a lot of daydreaming. It’s nice to be home so I can get into a better writing routine now the kids are back at school but I’m already missing the trees, the peace and quiet and our horses.

On the writing front, it’s time for me to get back to work. I’ve had so many requests for a sequel to Blackwattle Lake so I’ve been working on an outline for a second and possibly a third book. I’ve also started a new stand alone rural fiction which has no firm plot as yet, but three women characters from different generations. It’s a family mystery/romance/historical fiction so I’m interested to see where the storyline takes me. I have no firm deadlines at the moment but would like to get another book completed this year.

 

The best thing I love about writing is the escape. I can drop my kids off at school, do a few bits of housework and then disappear into another place entirely once I start writing. I guess I was drawn to Rural Fiction because even though I live in the city I’m a country girl at heart. Writing lets me spend time in a place I’d rather be, even if it is only in my imagination. One of the other things I love about writing is meeting and networking with other writers who are always so supportive. And interesting!

 

I’m so excited because my debut novel Blackwattle Lake is currently on the shelves. I’ve been writing for 12 years and it’s wonderful to have my dream come true. I was picked up through the QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program which I highly recommend to any writer who has a manuscript they’re keen to get published.

 

The book is about Eve Nicholls who returns to her childhood home after inheriting it from her estranged mother. Coming back means Eve has to deal with people and issues from her past that she has been avoiding for the last twenty years. It’s a story of courage and forgiveness set on a fictional property in southern NSW.

 

My inspiration for this novel was an image that came to me one day of a woman standing at the gate of a property but the gate was locked. The property looked a lot like the one where we agist our horses. I thought I’d follow the “write what you know” advice and see what happened. As I spend a lot of time riding and being around horses they became a pivotal part of the story. I wrote the first draft as a Nano novel (50,000 words in a month) in November 2009 and revised it over the following year but the story itself came out almost fully formed in the first draft.

 

That’s it for now. Hope you’re having a great week and all is going well with your new book (which I’ve just bought by the way and can’t wait to read!)

 

Love

 Pamela

Pam on veranda -58 BLACKWATTLE_LAKE_Cover

 

Website: http://www.pamelacook.com.au

Blog: www.pamelacook.wordpress.com

Twitter: @justwritetoday

One thought on “Loretta’s Pen Pals

  1. Hey Loretta

    See you Friday at Dymocks, Perth, with “The Hard Hat” in my hand and “Kiss and Tell”

    Helen

    >>> My Blog 12/02/2013 11:33 am >>>

    LorettaHill posted: “Many people hold the view that writers work in isolation, that it’s a lonely business, solitary and quiet. Not true. At least, not for me. I would probably chat to other writers, my publisher, my agent or my readers on a daily basis. Maybe it’s the phenom”

Leave a Reply

