My next FIFO Girl Book

060Yesterday was my eldest son’s first day of school. When I saw him kitted out in his school uniform for the first time, I nearly cried. I can’t believe how fast he’s grown. Where does the time go? The clock seems to speed up more and more every year.

Speaking of new beginnings, as Luke makes a start to the school term, I’m consolidating the first few chapters of my new novel.  Last week, I received a lovely email from my publisher. It began with two very short but effective sentences that every writer craves to hear, “This is great. Love it.”

I’d just sent her chapters one to three of my next book which I started writing in November last year.  I won’t send her chapters again till I’m half way through. We’ve already decided on a tentative title, which is “The Girl in the Yellow Vest.”

Yes, that’s right, I’m continuing to add to my FIFO Girls Series. This book will contain some characters from Boots and Hard Hat but others I’m afraid I will have to let go because I feel I’ve taken them as far as I can. Not telling you which ones. You’ll just have to wait and see.

Also, this next book will not be set on the Pilbara. I did receive quite a few requests for another Pilbara novel but after spending more than two years metaphorically speaking in that alternative reality, frankly, I’m ready to move on. I’m not saying there will never be another Pilbara novel… just that it’s not the next book or the one after that. “The Girl in the Yellow Vest” will be set in Queensland.

My next construction site is right next door to the Whitsundays Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. It’s the world’s largest coal export port, the Dalrymple Bay Terminal. Barnes Inc. has got another big job going on there and I’ve got a couple of keen heroines hoping to prove their mettle.

I’m really excited about this book and just like my beautiful son, I think I’ve made a great start.

4 thoughts on “My next FIFO Girl Book

  1. My eldest started school last week too. Her 2 year old brother has really missed playing with her during the day so I let him play in the backyard for the whole morning yesterday and while I sat and watched him, I read “Little White Lie” on my iphone! It was a great read, thanks! Really looking forward to reading “The Girl in the Yellow Vest” I love the FIFO characters and the amazing Australian settings. I still want to visit the Pilbara one day since reading your books! Best wishes with the other chapters!

  2. i can’t believe the number of my friends who have their first (or last) kids starting school this year! Your new books sounds great – can’t wait to read it and see who ends up in Queensland 🙂

  3. Sounds great. I’ll have to get this one too. I’ve read Steel capped boots and have the Girl In The Hard Hat ready on the kindle for my upcoming holiday. I’ve worked at both Cape Lambert and the Dalrymple Bay Coal Terminal, so it would be perfectly normal for a character or two to appear! Here’s hoping. My eldest had her first day of kindy the other day too. They look so grown up in their uniforms that are just a mite too big for them 🙂

Leave a Reply

