Studio Virgin Loses her Innocence

RadioI’ve done a lot of radio interviews to promote my books. But all of them have been over the phone. So there was no need to dust the cobwebs off something decent in my wardrobe, put on any make up or even leave the house. I just pretended to be glamorous because no one could see me. But today, I was actually invited down to the Nova (93.7 FM) studio in Perth, Subiaco. Boy, was I excited… and just a little nervous. The interview was to be pre-recorded and aired in Melbourne on Nova’s sister station Smooth FM. They were going to film it too for a podcast on Smooth FM’s website, so I had to look my best. A taxi (courtesy of Random House) dropped me off this morning in Subiaco around 10am.

Reception was very slick. One wall was lined with what looked like a giant switch board full of dials and flashing lights.  I couldn’t see any speakers but 93.7 FM pumped away in the background as I crossed the plush carpet. A very good looking receptionist asked me to wait on the white leather couches for awhile so I was at liberty to watch the parade of Nova staff as they bustled about. All young female, twenty somethings with legs to die for clothed in these fitted little dresses and four inch heels. That’s when I knew the floral print blouse I was wearing was probably a mistake.

Anyway, even though I looked like somebody’s mum, they all made me feel very welcome. I was soon guided, starry eyed, to the sound proof room. Here, I was shown a very high red stool, a large microphone and head phones.  I found it funny that, Katherine, the lady who was interviewing me was in Melbourne and despite being in the studio, I still wasn’t actually going to see the person I was talking to. Instead, I was looking down the barrel of a camera lens being pointed at me by a camera man who was standing beside the sound guy on the other side of the bench. All very intimidating for a girl in flat shoes whose feet could no longer touch the floor.

So there I am perched on this stool like a scared little bird, when suddenly the dulcet tones of Katherine Holland sounds in my headset. “Don’t worry, Loretta. You’ll be just fine. Can we just do a sound check first?”

“Er… yeah, no worries.” I say and am immediately mesmerized by the sound of my own voice.

Oooh Now I feel glam!

I don’t know what high tech enhancement device they’ve got in those microphone but OMG my voice sounds amazing! Soft and velvety with all the qualities of a hot beverage.

Too cool!

I sat up straight and grinned at the camera. I think the interview went really well and if you’re not in Melbourne, I’ll be sure to tell you when Smooth FM uploads it to their site so you can all have a listen. Oh and does anyone know if they sell those microphones on e-bay. I think I’d like to buy one and install it next to my phone 😉

4 thoughts on “Studio Virgin Loses her Innocence

  1. L,

    You look lovely! I am looking forward to hearing the interview.

    I just KNOW you will shine.

    Loved “Hard Hat” big time!

    Is there a “return to the Pilbara” in the offing????

    PS: Was in Dymocks AGAIN today and saw 2 copies of “Hard Hat” and 1 of “Steel Cap Boots” go out the door (just in the 15 mins I was browsing).

    Have now bought a Kindle, just so I can download “Little White Lie” when its released.

    Keep writing kiddo!

    Helen

    >>> My Blog 23/01/2013 2:51 pm >>>

    LorettaHill posted: “I’ve done a lot of radio interviews to promote my books. But all of them have been over the phone. So there was no need to dust the cobwebs off something decent in my wardrobe, put on any make up or even leave the house. I just pretended to be glamorous b”

Leave a Reply

