New Baby, New Ideas

It’s been an eventful week! On the 22nd August, 2012 my son Michael was born. At birth he was 3.856kg and 51cm.   Little angel.

Unfortunately, I didn’t witness him coming into the world. Due to complications with my C- section I was under general anaesthetic when he was born.  The following six days in hospital were difficult. But I am definitely on the mend and on the road to a full recovery.

Michael is a very good sleeper and a very good feeder. At least, he has been first ten days of life. If you’re a mother, you’ll know, circumstances can change in an instant. I’m just counting my blessings for the moment.

It was great to come home.  I missed my kids and the comfort of my own bed. And hospitals can be very depressing. I was hoping to do a lot of reading while I was there. My TBR pile is enormous. But due to the drugs and tiredness, I probably did more thinking instead. I’m in that strange lull period between one story and the next. For a writer that can be both scary and freeing. There’s no constant chatter in the background where the characters in your current work in progress are deciding what to do next. It’s very quiet. So instead of eavesdropping internally, I’m doing it externally -hoping that the next big adventure might leap out at me sometime soon. You never know where the next idea is going to come from.  Stay tuned and I’ll tell you when my muse is back in the building!

10 thoughts on “New Baby, New Ideas

  1. SO wonderful to hear Michael has arrived, Loretta. C section under a general, can be the pits (happened with my first son) so I hope you are recovering okay and getting some rest.
    Best wishes and hugs to you all. Take care.
    M x

  2. He is gorgeous, Loretta 🙂 Congratulations to you and your family. Rest up and take care. Your muse will find you when you’re ready. Enjoy your lovely little bundle and here’s to him keeping up the trend he’s set in his first ten days. Hugs xx

  3. I said this on Facebook, but I’ll say it here too:
    I love the name Michael (though I’m biased, as it has been in my family for generations!). It isn’t as common at the moment, but it’s one of those names that works for people at all ages.

Leave a Reply

