The Messages People Take

When I put pen to paper and wrote “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots” I had three main aims prioritized in the following order.
1. For my own enjoyment
2. To entertain an audience
3. To sell the manuscript due to diligence to point number 2.
Honestly, the very last thing on my mind was preaching to the public. After selling the book and all the promo that followed, including attending book clubs and talking to readers, I discovered that although that was not my intention there were many messages been received loud and clear all over the place.
One lady at a book club said that what she took from the novel was that you should never make snap judgements or assumptions about people because of where they’re from or what they look like. This theme was particularly true of my heroine Lena, who proved herself time and time again despite what people assumed about her. And also of my hero, Dan, who was hiding so much pain beneath that seemingly impenetrable exterior.
I thought, wow! what a great thing to take from my novel and was quite humbled by some of the other personal messages being received by other readers.
However, the most common message received from, “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots” is it’s advocacy for the strong female succeeding working in a male dominated industry.
I have had many women in the fields of engineering, mining, geology, safety, surveying and drafting commend me on my promotion of women taking on and succeeding in challenging careers usually dominated by men.
When I was writing this novel, I never consciously thought to send that message but am so glad it is now being received!
This week I have been preparing for an upcoming presentation at John Holland. (An engineering firm in my home town.) The presentation will be about how to attract more women to work in careers such as engineering and how I came to write, “The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots.”

Leave a Reply

