Ten Characters That Have Stood out to Me

(Originally posted February 2012)

I’ve been receiving a lot of comments from readers about The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots but particularly about the character Carl Curtis.
Thanks so much to everyone who has contacted me. I love getting feedback. And it’s so nice to know when someone has enjoyed your story and why. I’m also so pleased to hear that everybody likes Carl so much. As a secondary character he was definitely my favourite. I loved every scene I was able to put him in. He was just such a fun character to write. His constant need to drop the f-word and shocking tendency towards binge drinking, usual characteristics that endears one to a person provided a lot of comedy for the story. Many of my readers however have been using the phrase “Heart of Gold” to describe him too, which I think is great. I didn’t actually write that phrase anywhere in the book, but that is exactly how I wanted my readers to see Carl Curtis and so glad it’s come through.
To finish this blog I thought I make mention of characters in film, TV and books that I’ve thought we’re really well done with just the right level of quirky uniqueness to make them absolutely memorable. If you have a chance to get your hands/eyes on any of these, I thoroughly recommend it.
1. Tyrion the Dwarf from George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones
2. Becky Bloomward from Sophia Kinsella’s Shopoholic Series
3. Cleaver Greene from ABC’s Rake
4. Emma Woodhouse from Jane Austen’s Emma
5. Professor Snape from J.K. Rowlings Harry Potter series
6. Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory
7. The Marquis of Vidal from Georgette Heyers Devil’s Cub.
8. Jack Sparrow from The Pirates of the Carribean
9. Denny Crane from Boston Legal
10. Horatio Hornblower from C.S Foresters Hornblower

Leave a Reply

